Membership News and Notes

November 14th, 2018

The Molloy College Honors Program Newsletter Volume 2
Molloy Honors 2016 -2017

October 24th, 2016:

Dear NRHC members,

It was great to catch up with many of you last week in Seattle! I hope you are all back home safe and sound.

During our business meeting we discussed the idea of students becoming more involved at the national level. I’m happy to report that the following day three of our students from the region won awards at the NCHC Student Awards Ceremony! They are:

  • Remy Patrick Lavilla (LaGuardia Community College) won the Innovation for Tomorrow Award for an app he created.
  • Jonathan Morales (LaGuardia Community College) won the Freddye T. Davy Scholarship.

I am also thrilled to announce that Nathalie Waldschmidt (Monroe College) won the NCHC Student of the Year Award from a 4-year institution. As you know, Nathalie was one of our student representatives for Cambridge and is acting as Conference Student Assistant for the 2017 conference in Pittsburgh. Her contribution to NRHC has been invaluable.

Please join me in congratulating these talented and committed students on their success, and if I have missed anyone please let me know.

— Andrew Martino

President, NRHC

October 22nd, 2016:

The Seattle Business Meeting Minutes are now available on the Membership Page.


July 9th, 2016:

The Executive Board will be meeting for its annual summer planning meeting in Pittsburgh, PA on Monday, July 11th. We look forward to sharing with you all of the new and exciting developments as we prepare for NRHC 2017!


October 5th, 2015:

We are so thrilled to congratulate our long-time regional Honors colleague, Elaine Torda, for being named the recipient of this year’s NCHC Ron Brandolini Award for Excellence at a Two-Year Institution.  This is such a well-deserved recognition.  Further, we are so proud that a northeast regional Honors colleague has secured this award for the second year running.  (Julia Fennell–a past NRHC president–was an inaugural co-recipient of this very award last year.)